The Inter-Society promotes interactive dialogue and information exchange between cinema-related entities with the goal of resolving issues affecting the overall cinema presentation. 


Founded in 1978 by Eastman Kodak VP Ken Mason, membership is composed of its four charter trade organizations—the International Cinema Technology Association (ICTA), the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA), the National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO), and the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE)—along with over 40 member companies, made up of trade organizations, motion picture studios, exhibition companies, manufacturers, technical consultants and other industry stakeholders.


Previous activities include playing a major role in the implementation of cyan (silverless) soundtracks for 35MM film and procedures for controlling excessive loudness on trailers and feature films. Current committees include the Inter-Society Digital Cinema Forum (ISDCF), which is focused on resolving issues affecting the global digital cinema deployment, and the Inter-Society Environmental Committee (ISEC), which promotes green conservation and awareness within the cinema industry.


ISDCF holds meetings about every 6 weeks either hybrid (zoom and in person) or zoom only.